I Found a Typo in Your New Book.. wait, what?!

Recently, I encountered a YouTube video about Gaiman’s Laws. Well, the video wasn’t explicitly about Gaiman and his theories, but rather, John Green was discussing his book, ‘The Fault in Our Stars.’ I did some further reading, and ventured into Twitter about this phenomenon.

Amidst Neil Gaiman’s posts, I found his laws:

Gaiman’s First Law:  Picking up your first copy of a book you wrote, if there’s one typo, it will be on the page that your new book falls open to the first time you pick it up

Gaiman’s Second Law: All scientifically possible technology and social change predicted in science fiction will come to pass, but none of it will work properly

Gaiman’s Law of Superhero Movies: The closer the film is to the look and feel of what people like about the comic, the more successful it is

Gaiman’s Law of Hotel Rooms: The nicer a room you have been given, the less time you’ll spend there, and you’ll always be there alone.

I can completely relate with Gaiman’s First Law. Whenever I write something lengthy, I find that after I post or submit the piece, I find an embarrassing typo, even with spell check on and set as strict. What you tend to think about, often doesn’t equate to what you write out, as I eventually learned in my 16 years of existence.

For me, Gaiman’s second law is something of significant value. We can see something similar In the film, “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep/Blade Runner.” The transportation system that is established in the film has not yet been implemented in the world today, however, more and more Science Fair projects are about hovercrafts.

Here’s a fascinating quote I found on the interwebz regarding the above law.

“It’s amazing that we have mobile phones with which we can send photographs of *********-ing walruses to our friends on the other side of the world, but less fabulous that you lose signal in a five-yard patch on the Hackney Road just as someone is telling you something important.” – Anon

I’m fairly sure you can fill in the blank yourselves, if not, search the quote up on Google. 😉

I, personally, am not a fan of Superhero movies, but I do see Gaiman’s Law about Superhero Movies to be relatively accurate for my ‘geekier’ friends. Three of them have given this rule the thumbs up.

Gaiman’s Law of Hotel Rooms can’t be more true. I attended 8 hotel conferences in 2012, and I was in very, very, classy rooms, believe me… yet, I barely spent any time there. I was single-rooming in two conferences, I did NOT want to be in a confined space. Earlier this month, I went to Kelowna for a VEX Robotics competition, and we stayed at a less than satisfactory hotel, but, out of the 14 hours total I could’ve spent in the room, 11 were spent camping inside of it. Luckily, my two friends were in the room alongside me, so I was barely ever bored (not to mention prank calling my classmates). Gaiman’s law of hotel rooms is very accurate, and props to Mr. Neil Gaiman for ‘coining’ it, prior to me, of course! Haha, I kid.

Hope y’all enjoyed this selection. Back to studying.. and being distracted by the internet, woot!

Good news! Accepted to Shad Valley 🙂
Which campus should I go to? Let me know in the comments below! Thanks for reading.

One Response to I Found a Typo in Your New Book.. wait, what?!

  1. Rowena403 says:

    I totally agree with the first rule! Typos always seem to appear after I’ve handed in or submitted work!

Leave a Reply

